Traffic & Speeding Ticket Lawyer
It is not “just” a speeding ticket, and it is far more than a reckless driving ticket – traffic tickets can mean hundreds and thousands of dollars in increased insurance costs. While a single traffic ticket can raise your insurance rates and make you a target for police, several traffic violations and habitual offender status, or an arrest for driving under the influence (DUI), will change your life even more dramatically.
In North Carolina, traffic offenses can encompass many kinds of violations. Certainly, impaired driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs can spell serious consequences for motorists, but other violations also can mean distressing and costly results. Convictions for speeding, reckless driving, illegal turns, driving without a valid license, leaving the scene of an accident, running a red light and other offenses can mean higher insurance rates, points against your driver’s license, fines, loss of driving privileges and other penalties. If you’ve been charged with a traffic violation, don’t discount it as a minor inconvenience. You need the advice of an experienced Wilmington traffic & speeding ticket attorney at Hayes Mann.
Consequences of North Carolina Traffic Tickets
What can happen if you’re arrested for a traffic violation? Although many people imagine that they might just pay a ticket and be done with an offense, it often isn’t that simple. Of course, North Carolina traffic penalties vary with violations, but some of the consequences you could face include:
- Driver’s license points
- Increased insurance rates
- Mandatory classes for drivers
- Community service
- Jail sentences
- Driver’s license suspension or revocation
- Payment of fines
- Payment of restitution
North Carolina traffic penalties are more severe when traffic offenses result in damage to property or in injuries or deaths. The laws that apply to violations are extensive and complex.
An informed interpretation of your situation relies on a clear understanding of the law as it applies to your individual circumstances. Seek reliable guidance from a qualified traffic ticket attorney.
North Carolina Point System
When you get 12 points within a three-year period, you could have your license suspended. Once it’s reinstated, accumulating eight points in the next three year period will result in another suspension. Your first suspension could last up to 60 days, the second up to six months, and a third suspension could last up to 12 months. Once your privileges are returned, the points are voided. Here are some North Carolina traffic violations and the ensuing points that can occur:
- Littering involving a vehicle – 1 point
- Failure to stop for siren – 3 points
- No liability insurance – 3 points
- Running through a stop sign – 3 points
- Speeding more than 55 mph – 3 points
- Failure to yield right of way to pedestrians – 4 points
- Reckless driving – 4 points
- Hit and run property damage only – 4 points
- Passing a stopped school bus loading or unloading children – 5 points
- Aggressive driving – 5 points
Commercial drivers, take note: When operating a commercial motor vehicle, if you are convicted for any violation for which points may be assigned, your fines or penalties can be doubled.
Here are some North Carolina traffic violations and the ensuing points that can occur for commercial drivers:
- Possessing an alcoholic beverage in the passenger area of a commercial motor vehicle – 3 points
- Speeding through a school zone – 4 points
- Failure to report an accident when such report is required – 4 points
- Failure to stop for a siren – 4 points
- Reckless driving – 5 points
- Driving on the wrong side of a road
- Following too closely – 5 points
- Illegal passing – 5 points
- Illegal passing – 5 points
- Passing a school bus loading or unloading children – 8 points
- Aggressive driving – 6 points